USA Softball of North Carolina Umpire Clinics

January 5th ~ 7:00 PM
Asheville, NC ~ $15
Stephens Lee Center
30 George Washington Carver Ave
Asheville, NC  28801



January 6th ~ 1:00 PM
Charlotte ~ $15
​Saurer, Inc.
8801 South Blvd,
Charlotte, NC 28273


January 7th ~ 1:30 PM
Cary ~ $15
Herbert Young Center
101 Wilkinson Ave, Cary, NC 27513

When you pay to attend a clinic, you may attend others at no charge.
Registration with USA Softball will be done on line for 2018. Please wait to register and pay for your background check. NC is in the process of setting up the payment processing with Oklahoma City. A link will be set up on  this page.
Thank you!
Effective 2017: All umpires who register with USA Softball must complete and pay for a background check. This includes all umpires who will work recreation, travel and tournament games. If you have had a back ground check with any other organization, you will still be required to have a background check done through USA Softball. Click on the link below --Back Ground Check--.
 Want to be a USA Softball Umpire?

If you want to be a USA Softball umpire and you have not registered by April 1, 2018, you must contact one the the USA Softball NC Booking Agents listed below to register:



  • Burlington -Tony Laws - 336-222-5034 - tlaws@ci.burlington.nc.us
  • Asheville - Bryan Fish - 828-251-4025 - bfish@ashevillenc.gov
  • Walkertown - Randy Nelson - 336-671-6551 - nelsonrandy5@aol.com
  • Morganton - Robert Bolick - 828-438-5354 - rbolick@ci.morganton,nc.us
  • Statesville - Daniel Lewis - 704-878-3429 - dlewis@statesvillenc.net
  • Charlotte - Jon Hill - 908-229-1902 - coachhill813@yahoo.com
  • Monroe - Rebecca Stegall - 704-635-8550 - rstegall2@me.com
  • Winston-Salem - Todd Barr - 336-734-1216 - toddb@cityofws.org
  • Butner - Ronald Edwards - 919-575-4334 - tricounty14@nc.rr.com
  • Garner - Phil King - 919-772-4520 - philcallsball@gmail.com
  • Wilmington - Bill Best - 828-438-5354 - billbest@bellsouth.net
  • Goldsboro - Mike Van Horn - 919-394-6785 - mike@impactfastpitch.org
  • New Bern - Al Collins - 252-464-7819 - alcollinsump@gmail.com
  • Cary - Aubrey Clayton - 919-469-4063 - Aubrey.Clayton@townofcary.org
  • Durham - Lynn Dunbar - 919-477-3533 - fun2ref@yahoo.com
  • Greensboro & Eden - Tim Doby - 910-690-3556 - timdoby@gotgamefastpitch.com
  1. ASA State Championships - Greensboro & Raleigh

    ASA State Championships - Greensboro & Raleigh

  2. Locker Room - Links to USA Softball site

    Locker Room - Links to USA Softball site

  3. Rules And Equipment

    Rules And Equipment

  4. 2017 USA Softball Biennial UIC Conference - NC Staff

    2017 USA Softball Biennial UIC Conference - NC Staff

  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director
  5. Managing Director
  6. Managing Director
  7. Managing Director
  8. Managing Director
  9. Managing Director
  10. Managing Director
 -- RegisterUSASoftball.com --
 -- Back Ground Check --
 -- Official Gear --
 -- Why Umpire? --
Bat List & Equipment
 Playing Rule Changes
ASA/NCAA/NFHS Rules Differences
Slow Pitch & Fast Pitch Differences
2nd Annual "Shields Take the Field" Charity Softball

Umpires from the Winston-Salem area voluntered time to officiate these charity games in Concord, North Carolina.
Todd Barr, James Adams, Sue Carter, Enid Velez, Robbie Call, Peter Falk, Charles Richmond
& Sam Hancock
This is a Slow Pitch Women's tounament with teams from law enforcement that travel to play softball from all around North Carolina.
This year the event raised money for the Special Olympics. The support staff from the Special Olympics entered a team and there was an added game featuring two Special Olympics teams. 
The event was won by the Durham SWAT team.
ASA/USA Softball has supported this event the last two years and look forward to being involved for this worthy cause for years to come!
  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director